My Korea Trip Part 2: Food~ Restaurants & Cafes

Drool time! ^_^

Back to work is no joke. Nope, the teaching part is just as easy as 1, 2, 3. It’s the other part of my job scope that is a killer. It kills brain cells. Ok, let’s stop here, if not I will continue to whine about whatever negative stuff that has been going on… which is why! I’m gonna talk on FOOD today! 

The 8 days in Korea is just pure DELICIOUS! From street food to restaurant/cafe food that I source out from past blogger reviews!

Let’s start from Restaurants and Cafes!

Jogabi Seafood Restaurant and Bar

This is my favorite seafood place (not the cheapest but the most convenient for a lazy me who have low tolerance of the smell from wet markets) where the seafood is just yummy! Steamed, BBQ, Alaska Crabs… etc are all available here. 

I Believe they have 2 shops in MyeongDong. Whichever is fine. 

Steamed Seafood! I wrote about this before and I’m doing it again. Because… it’s so fresh and good! There’s all the shells and not in the photo, similarly to the layers seafood, there is soup at the bottom with more shells and you can add noodles in which we did! 

We also ordered the squid! The wiggly tentacles that look gross and scary but actually… it just taste like Ika sashimi. πŸ˜‘ And… YOLO! Tried once and nah… I will stick to Ika sashimi. πŸ˜‹

On a seperate day we came back for the BBQ seafood and the huge and expensive Alaska Crab.

Now, if you want to try BBQ shells, please just get it here. It taste way better than those on the street at a much reasonable price. I can’t decide whether I like the steamed ones or the BBQ ones after eating this. Anyway, the shop assistant will do the BBQ-ing so you can eat in peace.

The highlight of all: CRAB! 

The thing about this, we misheard the price thinking it is 1 less zero but… oh well, once in the blue moon, its good to treat ourselves something that you don’t get to eat easily. And, I was in a terrible mood that day… so! The crab is steamed and you get to taste the original flavor of it. The shop assistant will actually cut it for you so you don’t have to struggle with it. Totally worth the price!

This place is not difficult to find especially with Google Map.

Would I go back again? YES!

Address: South Korea, Seoul, Jung-gu, Myeongdong 1(il)-ga, 38-1 1 μΈ΅ μ‘°κ°€λΉ„

Masan – Ganjang Gejang

OMG! This is like the best thing ever! My friend had actually mentioned about this yummy yet addictive thing in Singapore. So I decided to give it a try (feeling a little skeptical as it is raw blue crab) in Korea. After googling around, I found this place from this blogger.

Basically, Ganjang gejang is a dish where raw blue crabs are marinated in a special soy sauce. It is freaking good! 

I’m just blown away with the taste of it! And no kidding, rice is a must as the sauce is so tasty! 

We also ordered a egg roe bibimbap! 😲 Daebak! And as usual, they are very generous with their side dishes and they threw in a steam egg for free! πŸ–’

This place is located in Sinsa at their Ganjang Gejang Alley. There is alot of choices but I picked Masan and it was the right decision. 😁

Would I go back again? YES!

Address: 10 Gangnam-daero 99-gil, Seocho-gu | Masan Halmae Agoojjim, Seoul, South Korea

Myeongdong Kyoja

Been wanting to try this since I the last time I went to Korea but everyone kept telling me it’s not nice lah. Don’t want lah. πŸ˜‘

Let me tell you this now: It’s so good! Eat from the right place before you discredit the food!

I had to get my hotel receptionist to guide me to this place. They were nice enough to print out a easy to read map and direct me to this place. Since I stay in Myeongdong, it’s nothing difficult for me at all. 

Look at the juicy looking Mandu! It is filled with meat and with just the right texture of skin. 

We also order two noodles to share and the Kalguksu ‘chopped noodle’ soup is very nicely done. Noodles with the right chewiness and the soup just warms you up! As for the other noodle; Bubimguksu spicy noodle which is cold soft wheat noodles tossed in this special spicy red pepper paste sauce… it’s not that fantastic based on my opinion. Maybe cause the weather is cold so it doesn’t taste as comforting as the hot stuff.

Anyway, the food is served as soon as you order and you have to pay first which is good as the queue for this place is long!

Would I go back again? YES!

Address:25-2 Myeongdong 2(i)-ga, Jung-gu, Seoul, South Korea
 

Tosokchon Ginseng Chicken Soup

A little over-rated but anything warm for the stomach in the cold is still good. We went early thus there were no queues. (After we are done, we were shock by the queue outside!)

We order 1 normal, and 1 black chicken. The black chicken soup have a stronger herb taste but both are equally tasty. There were also free flow kimchi and radish (which I kept eating). The meat of the chicken comes off the bones easily and the glutinous rice inside have more ingredients than some of the others that I tried. Maybe cause I’m just into the soup, all I did was drink lots of soup while munching the radish kimchi. 

If I have to compare, the Ginseng Chicken that I ate in Jeju when I first visited Korea many years back is still the best. 

Would I go back again? Nah.

Address:South Korea, Seoul, Jongno-gu, Sajik-dong, Jahamun-ro 5-gil, 5
 

Miss Lee Cafe at Samchingdong 

Cozy little place which I think is think is a fire hazard. πŸ˜‚ Was recommend to this cafe by my many sources (itineraries from friends) but I didn’t really put my mind into looking for it. Found this place by accident. Maybe cause I was hungry after walking around Gyeongbokgung.

Couldn’t resist ordering their signature lunch box. Oh… I failed the part where you were suppose to shake the tin to mix the rice. Ended up with the sauce leaking out. 😝 

Quite tasty for something simple. As for the drinks, I chose the omija latte. Sour-ish but very refreshing! Just the thought of it makes me thirsty! 

Would I go back again? Mmmm… yes!

Address: Please google as there are many branches. 😎

Mukshidonna Myeongdong

This food wasn’t in my plan as I know how to cook it (or should I say my mom knows?) And there is a branch in Singapore as well. But since we were just wandering around with no idea of what to it, we shall this at Myeongdong! 

You will just need to tick on the items you want and pass them the paper for your order. I chose the ham based and added ramen and glass noodles roll. Yes… I didn’t go overboard although, I was super tempted to order double portion of ramen. πŸ˜†

Simple dish but not as tasty as the main branch in Insadong. And… the ham is seriously small and miserable. 

Would I go back again? Nah… I can cook better than this. πŸ˜‚

Address: 12, Myeongdong 3-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 04534, South Korea
  

Line cafe at Garosugil 

Dropped by here after our yummy brunch of Ganjang Gejang. I finally found a place that serves Earl Grey Latte that is worth mentioning. Singapore’s Starbucks and Coffee Beans… please up your game! The green tea cake is light and spongy that suits my picky tastebuds and the macarons are just too adorable. On the expensive side but it’s a brand so what do you expect?

This place is a cafe plus shop. Which have this huge bear for photo taking right in front. P.s. Queue up for your turn!

If you are a fan of Line friends.. you will love this place! 

Because the photo that was captured at Garosugil branch went missing, my travel buddies help me take this at Myeongdong branch in a attempt to brighten up my lost phone day as well. There are a few branches but I shall just share the one at Sinsa.

Address:535-15, Sinsa-dong, Gangnam-gu, Seoul, Korea


Alrighty, it’s super duper late and the initial plan was to put all the food into 1 post. BUT! I don’t think it is possible after all. Soooo.. till the next time where I do up the food~ Street food and others.



Drooling to sleep,

Essa

Leave a Reply

